Sunday, January 13, 2019

{Book Review} I Know Where She Is by S.B. Caves

This post may contain affiliate links: If you purchase through my link, I will receive a small commission at no additional cost to you. I only recommend products/services that I approve of. Purchasing through my links allows me to continue to provide unique content and pursue my business dreams. Thank you for supporting me.

Title:  I Know Where She Is
Author:  S.B. Caves
Series:  
Publisher:   Canelo
Date:    August 14th, 2017
Pages:  257
ASIN:    B0744BFRT8
Source:  gift
Purchase:  Amazon


An explosive, gripping thriller for fans of Karin Slaughter, Linwood Barclay and Karen Dionne, don’t miss this heart-stopping debut.

On the tenth anniversary of her daughter Autumn's abduction, Francine receives an anonymous note containing just five words: I KNOW WHERE SHE IS

When a young woman approaches her the next day claiming to have sent the letter Francine wants to dismiss it as a cruel, twisted joke.

But the stranger knows things that only Autumn would know.

It soon becomes clear that Francine must go to dark places in order to learn the truth about her child’s kidnapping.

She will discover that danger comes from unexpected sources. She will do things she never imagined herself capable of.

But will Francine get her daughter back – or is it too late?


*TW: Description of abuse/torture to young girls*

This was one suspenseful ride. I couldn't put the book down until I knew what had happened and if Autumn was safe. I was hooked from the first page. The story did slow down a bit but once it hit part two, everything picked up for me and I was up til 3 am reading. I normally don't read a lot of mystery/thriller books, but for some reason, I am really getting into them these last couple of months.

The story starts off with a woman getting a mysterious note in her mail slot that says " I know where she is". But there is no return address, no signature, no identifying marks at all. She immediately knows this note is in reference to her daughter that went missing 10 years ago. Francine, the mother, has become a functioning alcoholic, who never gave up hope that her daughter Autumn is still alive. Will, the now ex-husband, has moved on with his new wife and soon to be child. Will made a living off of the disappearance of his daughter Autumn and assumes that she is dead. You can tell throughout the story that Francine has a tone of resentment towards Will, and honestly, I don't blame her.

After the note arrives, and Francine finally convinces Will to meet her somewhere, he tells her to leave it alone and that it's basically a prank on her. However, Francine notices a girl hanging around her workplace and car, so she goes to talk to her and this is where things pick up. The girl tells her that she left the note. Francine takes her to eat something and says she will help her if she answers some questions about Autumn. The girl tells her things that only someone close to Autumn would know. 
Part two is where things get bad for the story, this part is told mainly through Autumn's pov and as you can imagine; it isn't pretty. There are descriptions of young girls being chained to basement walls, showering while being watched by grown men. You never really learn why the girls were taken, just the torture they go through and the things they are forced to do. 

There is a bit of action, and my heart was racing for Autumn, the other girls, and Francine throughout the last half of the book.




Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own." Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information.

 FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books and products I review are provided to me for free by the publisher, author of the book, company in exchange for an honest review. If I am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 

My Chaotic Ramblings and all participating bloggers are not held responsible for sponsors who do not fulfill their prize obligations. The giveaways on this site are in no way endorsed or sponsored by Facebook or any other social media site.
Share:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

2019 Reading Challenges

Main List can be found HERE

2019 Reading Challenge

2019 Reading Challenge
Melissa at My Chaotic Ramblings has read 3 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Stay Up to Date

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Follow

Help Wanted

Blog Archive