Thursday, November 29, 2018

(Book Review} Allison and the Torrid Tea Party by C.M. Stunich

This post may contain affiliate links: If you purchase through my link, I will receive a small commission at no additional cost to you. I only recommend products/services that I approve of. Purchasing through my links allows me to continue to provide unique content and pursue my business dreams. Thank you for supporting me.

Title: Allison and the Torrid Tea Party
Author: C.M. Stunich
Series: Harem of Hearts
Publisher: Sarian Royal Publishing
Date: October 7, 2018
Pages: 514
Source: Amazon purchase

Books in the "Harem of Hearts" series are full-length reverse harem/new adult/dark romance novels,  gritty retellings of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland". Don't expect a children's tale; these characters are nothing like their more innocent counterparts. This book contains: drugs, cursing, violence, sex ... and love found in the darkest shadows


Holy fucking hearts.
Did you just read that?!
If you did, I need your advice.

I met fallen angel princes; I met a Savage Duke; I met a Cheshire Cat.
And remember—how could you possibly forget—I'm the fabled Alice from the prophecy.
Just a twisted, dark version of the girl in Lewis Carroll's old books.

Except in those books, there was a happy ending.
In those books, Alice wasn't dating nine very different, very beautiful men.
But now that I've met the King of Hearts and the Mad Hatter, I'm not sure who the real bad guys are.

I'm the only one who can turn Underland back into Wonderland again.
But if I have a chance to escape the blood, the death, and the intrigue in this place, should I take it?
I'm Allison Liddell, and I've got a choice to make: stay here and fight the darkness, defeat the Anti-Alice, and survive the Torrid Tea Party ... or run.

Tweedledee says I can change the world.
So if you're reading this, will you help me decide what I should do?
I want to go home, but I can't leave this place as broken as I found it, now can I?

My Review:

In the second book of the Harem of Hearts series, we are introduced to the Mad Hatter, the March Hare, Cheshire Cat, the King of Hearts, and a whole host of other characters. We get more sex in this book, but honestly not enough to distract from the plot. There is more cussing and lots of innuendos, and of course more indecisiveness from Allison-who-isn't-Alice about whether to stay in Underland or go home. 

Allison learns to use her magic to an extent, she is also being taught how to fight by the Savage Duke. Allison still says she will not marry the King of Hearts, but we all know how wishy-washy she is by now. Just know there is no wedding in this book 🙂
We get introduced to the Mocking Turtle and the Gryphon, and they are just creepy! There is only three real scenes with them, but they are discussed along with the Anti-Alice (weird twist at the end guys!!) throughout a good chunk of the book.

The Walrus and the Carpenter are brought in during the last chapter and of course, the book leaves off on a cliffhanger. The writing in this book seemed to be a bit over the top. I had to actually look up some words used and really, something simpler could have been used in place of them; but still a great read and now it's time for the last one 🙂

Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own." Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information.

 FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books and products I review are provided to me for free by the publisher, author of the book, company in exchange for an honest review. If I am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 

My Chaotic Ramblings and all participating bloggers are not held responsible for sponsors who do not fulfill their prize obligations. The giveaways on this site are in no way endorsed or sponsored by Facebook or any other social media site.


Post a Comment